CFAES Give Today
Plant Pathology

Department of Plant Pathology


Honoring Alumni

CFAES Plant Pathology Alumni Awards

Jim Starr2008 CFAES Distinguished Alumni Award

Pictured: Dr. James Starr (near right), Professor of Plant Pathology at Texas A&M University, with former Department Chair Ira Deep (center) and his wife, Marie, at the CFAES Alumni Society Awards luncheon on March 1, 2008, in Columbus.

Dr. Starr is a renowned plant nematologist who has transformed disease management for peanut and cotton crops in Texas and worldwide.

A native of the Dayton, Ohio area, he earned his BS (1971) and MS (1972) in plant pathology from Ohio State, and PhD from Cornell University.  Dr. Starr is a Fellow of the Society of Nematology and the American Phytopathological Society, and has received numerous industry awards for his work on peanut diseases.  For his many accomplishments in research and teaching, and his professional service and leadership, we congratulate Dr. Starr as recipient of a CFAES Distinguished Alumni Award.

2007 CFAES International Alumni Award

Dr. Fikrettin Sahin is Chair of the Department of Genetics and Bioengineering and Director of the Institute of Biotechnology at Yeditepe University in Turkey, where he is an authority on vegetable diseases.  He received the 2007 CFAES International Alumni Award and was lauded for his key role in developing ties between CFAES and Turkish institutions.

Past Distinguished Alumni Awards, Plant Pathology

Christine Taylor Waddill

Carroll Vance

Konrad T. Kmetz

Donald D. Kaufman

J. Harold Florea
Asa C. Sims, Jr.

David W. Rosberg

Harold Porter