News and Awards

- Horacio Lopez Nicora, Presidential Fellowship, 2015-2016; John M. Webster Outstanding Student Award, Society of Nematologists

- Anna Testen, U.S. Borlaug Fellow in Global Food Security (current) and Hayes Graduate Research Forum, Ohio State, 1st place oral presentation, Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences category.

- Shan Lin, 1st place, student poster, Fruit Rot of Winterberries: A New Threat to Ohio’s Nursery Industry. OSU Extension Annual Conference, Dec. 9, 2014, Columbus, Ohio.

- Entomology outreach video award, David Showalter and Michael Falk (2014)

- David Showalter, OARDC Charles Thorne Associateship, 2015-2016

- Dayoung Lee, Monsanto Beachell-Borlaug International Research Fellow

(Left photo) Spring Symposium - Research Proposal Seminars - 2013 L to R: Nagendra Subedi, Pengfei Bai, Brittany Nauth, Abasola Simon, Daisy D'Angelo, Pavinee Suttiviriya, Anna Stasko and Chrissy Balk.

(Right photo) First place: - American Phytopathological Society Video Contest, 2012. L to R: Ellie Walsh, Jorge David Salgado, presenter Alissa Kriss, Brittany Nauth and Kelsey Andersen > View video

  • Anna Stasko, United Soybean Board Fellowship (2014-2015)
  • Qin Guo, University Fellowship (2014-2015)
  • Krystel Navarro, SROP Fellowship (2014-2015)
  • Ellie Walsh, American Phytopathological Society (APS), Kenneth and Betty Barker Student Travel Award and The Dennis Hall Named Student Travel Award (2014); APS Publications Board, member
  • Anna Conrad, American Phytopathological Society, presenter, 14th I.E. Melhus Graduate Symposium, American Phytopathology Society Annual Meeting, Aug. 9-13, 2014, Minneapolis, MN
  • Anna Conrad, C. C Allison Award (2014)
  • Anna Testen, University Fellowship (2013-2014) and OARDC Director's Associateship (2014-2015)
  • Rachel Capouya, University Fellowship  (2013-2014) and OARDC Director's Associateship  (2014-2015)
  • Jaqueline Huzar Novakowiski, Brazil, Science Without Borders
  • Ferdous-e Elahi, Mynul Islam, Borlaug Higher Education in Agricultural Research and Development Fellowships
  • Dominique Alvis, Graduate Enrichment Fellowship (2013-2014)
  • David Showalter, FAES Environmental Fellowship (2013-2014)
  • Rachel Medina, OARDC Minority Associateship (2013-2014)
  • Patrick W. Sherwood, Charles Thorne Memorial Graduate Associateship Award (2013-2014)
  • Jorge David Salgado, presenter, Melhus Graduate Symposium, 13th I. E. Melhus Graduate Student Symposium: What's in Our Toolbox to Minimize the Risk of Plant Disease? American Phytopathology Society Annual Meeting, Aug. 10-15, 2013 Austin, TX
  • Patrick Sherwood, Travel grant, American Phytopathological Society, H. J. Dubin Student Travel Award in honor of the Peace Corps, 2013
  • Anna Conrad, Xiaoqing Rong - American Phytopathological Society Annual Meeting, session co-moderators, 2013
  • Horacio Lopez Nicora, Graduate Student Teaching Award, North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (NACTA), 2013
  • Godwill Chewachong - Borlaug Summer Institute for Global Food Security, 2013 > Read more
  • Xiaoqing Rong and Patrick Sherwood, CC Allison Awards (2013)
  • Timothy Frey, 3rd place, OARC Annual Conference, Graduate Student Poster Competition (2013)
    > Read more
  • Horacio Lopez Nicora: Graduate Student Teaching Award, North American Colleges and Teachers of Agriculture (2013)
    Society of Nematology, Graduate Student Poster Award, 1st place; first student member to serve on the Executive Board (2012-2015) and president of the SON Graduate Students Association
  • David Showalter, Excellence in Plant Molecular Biology and Biotechnology Graduate Fellowship (2011-2013)
  • Anna Stasko, OARDC Director's Associateship (2012-2013)
  • Diane Plewa, University Fellowship (2012-2013)
  • Pengfei Bai, University Fellowship (2012-2013) and OARDC Director's Associateship (2013-2014)
  • Emmanuel Mgonja, USAID Innovative Agricultural Research Initiative (iAGRI) Fellowship 2012-2015, Tanzania > Read more
  • Pavinee Suttiviriya, Royal Thai Government Scholarship